Tags

, , , , , , ,

My first solo show is a little less than a month away! I thought I’d give a little sneak peek into what I’m going to be exhibiting and a little about the process. Below is an image of one of the pieces I’m preparing for the show and, I have to say I’m so energized getting ready for this, more so than I think I’ve ever been. And I think that’s what it’s all about; not necessary the end result, although that part is important, but the journey to get there, the creative part, reaching deep and doing things you’ve never done before.

In this piece I’m playing with scraps of paper over an older piece that I first painted over with acrylics. I didn’t really like where that was going, although some of the paint is still showing, so I began adding paper scraps from previous mixed media collages I’ve done over the years (I have a plastic bin that I put all those little scraps in; I knew they’d come in handy one day!). Of course I’m still tinkering with this, looking for ways to tie all the components together, but so far I’m enjoying the almost chaotic process of this one. No title yet. Suggestions?

show1

